Gay marriage…Monsanto…oh my

Oh…this week.  There has been a lot this week to be encouraged about.  Some amazing, wonderful things have shown up in my Facebook feed, especially.  It warmed my heart.  But there are some annoying things going on too.  If this gets political, too bad.  It’s my blog and you can leave at any time.  You can even leave hateful comments!  I won’t even mind!  Mkay?  Thanks! 

 Monsanto.  Really?  Really?  I tend to like our president while understanding that basically, big business runs the country.  I just wish that someone in this beautiful country had the balls to stand up for the right thing when it comes to our food.  Our food! 

Monsanto runs big food and big food is a big mess.  Whether you are vegetarian, vegan, raw foodie, real foodie, Weston Pricer, paleo eater, local eater, McDonalds eater, or complete carnivore, this should matter to you.  Genetically Modified foods are not subject to any long term tests.  We do not know how these things have or will affect us in the long run but it won’t be good.  Monsanto has just been given the green light to do whatever they want.  They can plant GMOs with no regulation.  You might think that this doesn’t matter because you only eat organic.  You would be wrong.  GMOs have a way of sneaking into everything.  They are like that weird girl that no one likes but she always shows up at the party anyway.  Only this time, that girl is poisoning your food.  I might be that girl in general, but I’m not poisoning your food…this time. 

Anyway, be upset about this.  It is worth getting upset over whether you are gay, straight, poly, republican, democrat, libertarian, or nothing at all.  End Monsanto rant.  Onto the next rant!

Gay people.  I love them.  Gay people are wonderful.  I owe gay people a lot.  Without the gays I would never have done the following things:

I never would have learned to pluck my eyebrows.  It would be terrible.  We should all thank them for teaching me to pluck.  Truly. 

I never would have learned to apply makeup properly. 

I would never have learned my angles.  I know my angles.  You can check out old Facebook pictures of me for confirmation. 

I would only wear jeans and t-shirts.  I mean now I just wear yoga pants and t-shirts but I’m not afraid of other things anymore.

I could go on all day.  Women have gay men to thank for gorgeous clothes, gorgeous weddings, gorgeous home interiors and almost everything beautiful.  Gay men have done more to liberate women than women, in many cases. 

Lesbians?  They are awesome.  I have been blessed to know and love some wonderful people who identify themselves as lesbians.  But first and foremost they are people and that is what this is really about, isn’t it?

I never would have become who I was meant to be without some input and support from some really special homos in my life.  For fifteen years, I have been privileged enough to have a gay best friend.  Before he showed up in my life, I had no friends.  I was odd.  Shocking, I know. 

I had anxiety attacks about going to school.  People called me a bitch and a snob but really I was terrified.  I was scared of everyone until I met Travis.  Yes, our first encounter was a little rocky but I eventually forgave him for that.  With him by my side, I wasn’t afraid anymore.  I did things that I never thought I’d be able to do.  And he had my back.  He still does.  And I have his.  It is one of the great truths of my life. 

T has been in a relationship with K for ten years.  For ten years, I have had the pleasure of watching them grow as a couple.  They love me.  I love them.  They love my children and husband.  I love their dogs (except one…sorry Elijah).  They have a beautiful life.  They ARE married.  All they lack is a piece of paper.  One day they are going to get that piece of paper and on that day, I’m going to put on a beautiful dress and go to their wedding.  I CAN’T WAIT for that day to come. 

It will come.  I am very aware that only a few short years ago, my own marriage would have been illegal.  That is part of the reason that I will forever fight and be outspoken about the fact that I support gay marriage.  The other reasons should be obvious at this point.

Love is not easy to find.  People search for it their entire lives and don’t find the true love that they are looking for.  If you are lucky enough to find it, you should not only live it but be allowed to make it legal.  Love is love is love is love is love. 

Oh and marriage gets often confused with “fairytale ending.”  Just so we can clear that up right now, marriage is basically two people trying to get along all day, every day until they die (or get divorced) so who cares what combination of genders they are.  Let’s just calm down about the sanctity of it.  A piece of paper does not mean that my partnership is more sacred than yours.  A partnership of any kind that is filled with love and striving is sacred to me and counts as marriage.  Marriage is the long haul.  It is not glamorous.  It is also none of anyone’s business.  It is ridiculous that we still have to have the conversation.  (Also, I love being married and I love my hubs and I think he would agree with the statements above.) 

I guess I’m just pissed off.  But what right do I have to even be pissed?  I was allowed to get married.  I have the piece of paper!  

And finally, if you don’t agree with gay marriage, that’s fine.  BUT don’t say “I don’t believe in it.”  It is a real thing.  We are not talking about the tooth fairy. 

My final rant of the day is less serious but every bit as annoying.  Compliments disguised as insults are still insults.  If you can’t think of anything nice to say, don’t say anything.  Especially if you are standing in a church.

The freakin’ end.

Leave a Reply

